On Publishing “Between Borders & Buses”

BBAB

I can’t believe it.

Surely this must be a dream. And if it is, I certainly don’t want to wake up. After four years of toiling over a keyboard, my first book, “Between Borders and Buses” has been published and released on an unsuspecting public.

Filled with numerous travel anecdotes, the book is an enlightening and entertaining tale of the mayhem, misadventure and mischief I stumbled upon when traipsing haphazardly around Europe.

On hearing I’ve written a book about my European jaunt, everyone automatically assumes that I am ecstatic and doing the dance of joy with every person I meet. They are partially right. Sure, I’m near cloud nine but nowhere near over the moon, because my elation is tempered by fear.

When writing the book, I was sure people would love to read about my motor scooter mishaps, how I avoided threesomes in the Greek islands and the best way to wrestle a stubborn tent in Portugal. But now as my book trickles into the market place, I am overwhelmed with apprehension.

Why?

Amongst the titbits of information to help backpackers and other budget conscious travellers plan their trips, my emotions are laid bare for all to read. It is this latter aspect that scares me the most. Sure people might not judge a book by its cover, but they might judge an author by his travel book.

What worries me are the conclusions people might come to as they read my tome. Take my Space cake shenanigans in Amsterdam for example. After reading about this indiscretion, will they guffaw loudly at my antics or throw the book down in disgust, hoping to use as it kindling in their fireplace?

To be honest, I would rather have readers shake their heads and “tut tut” disapprovingly over a typical “dodgy Daz” moment then a piece of bad prose and improper use of grammar. For that small mercy, I am forever indebted to my fantastic editor Merilyn Smith (correctediting@bigpond.com.au) who went, in my opinion, above and beyond the call of duty when editing “Between Borders and Buses.” To say she was a godsend is an understatement. If not for her or my proof reader, Tim Learner (timlearner@kooee.com.au), my book would have more than likely found a home next to the porcelain throne – and I don’t mean as light reading material either.

Now as I send the first books off to various customers, I understand how parents feel when they send their kids off to school for the first time. They have done everything they possibly could, from ironing their shirts, combing their hair and even packing their lunches, but in the end, the kid has to make it in the schoolyard by themselves.As I am sure every writer knows, in the world of book publishing, the school yard is a humungous and in all honesty, a bloody scary place.

Sure, people tell me I should be proud that I self published “Between Borders and Buses”, and I am. Admittedly, I did not do it myself. I read and re-read Euan Mitchell’s “Self Publishing Made Easy”, a must for every eager author, and learnt a lot of practical information from attending Samantha Tidy’s course at the NSW Writers Centre – “Self Publishing is not a Dirty word!” But all that doesn’t matter to the reader, who cares not how the book got published, just that it was. All they are concerned about is the quality of the words between that highly colourful art board cover.

Now you understand why I’m scared, terrified even. But you know what? I would not have it any other way.It makes each morning much more exciting and fresh, knowing that there are people out there, some of whom are complete strangers, engrossed in my story.

Sure there will be the naysayers who look upon my book with disdain and harsh criticism, but to quote a US president: “You can’t please all of the people all of the time.” The pain of each criticism though is nothing to the gratification that fills me whenever I hear someone talk favourably about “Between Borders and Buses.” Thankfully the book’s reviews thus far have been nothing if not promising.

But it is still early days and whatever direction “Between Borders and Buses” trends – good, bad or even becomes (dare I hope?) a bestseller – I am certain of one thing: my first book may be complete and the last sentence long since typed, but my journey as a writer is just beginning.

“Between Borders and Buses” is available at www.beyondyonderpublications.com

Leave a comment